City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare.

8755776The Mortal Instruments, Book Five

542 pages

Published May 8th 2012

Contains spoilers for previous novels.

Jace his now a servant of evil, bound for all eternity to Sebastian. Only a small band of Shadowhunters believe he can be saved. To do this they must defy the Clave. And they must act without Clary. For Clary is playing a dangerous game utterly alone. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. Clary is willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost? What price is too high to pay, even for love?

 

I used the book’s blurb because I struggled to write one of my own. This is one of those books that you look back on and think, ‘Five hundred pages? Really?’ It’s probably just a Young Adult thing, but it really makes me appreciate the pace of books like Silence of the Lambs, where so much happens in just three hundred and thirty-odd pages. Obviously they’re completely different, and I’m not comparing them. But I’m not sure I’ll ever understand how some YA books can be so long when not much seems to happen. The original trilogy was pretty long too, but a lot more seemed to be going on.

Having said that, I quite enjoyed City of Lost Souls. It took me a while to get through, but (and I know I’ve used this excuse before…) I got addicted to a TV show and there were three seasons to get through and I just couldn’t make myself stop watching! My copy was always by my side though, partly so I could jump back in at a moments notice and also because it smells amazing. Anyone out there who loves the smell of books will understand, there are different scents, and like Goldilocks tasting Baby Bear’s porridge, this one was just right. I’d pick it up randomly and just smell it as I was watching my show.

I think that the threat of the enemy is much better written this time around (new trilogy versus old trilogy, I mean). The idea of Valentine was good, and he eventually lived up to his menacing ways, but at first he was a bit weak, plus he wasn’t around a whole lot. Sebastian, however, is much more present, and when you get to the finale of Lost Souls, you’ll see that he follows through better than his father. In my opinion, anyway.

The final book is shaping up to be quite promising, and I look forward to getting stuck into it.

My Rating: 4/5

Goodreads Rating: 4.32/5

Leave a Reply

