Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry.

13560086Pushing the Limits, Book One

392 pages

Published June 1st 2012

Noah and Echo are two broken people, looking for answers and fighting for what they want.

Echo has repressed memories of a night two years ago when something horrible happened to her. She has the scars, and the incomplete story that people told her, but beyond that, nothing. She wants to find out the truth, but is scared it may break her even more.

Noah has been in the system since his parents died, and he’s had his run of bad foster parents. Because of some of his bad choices, he’s lost most of his access to his younger siblings. He wants it back, and is willing to do anything.

Just as Echo is starting to put herself out there again, she and bad boy Noah keep getting thrown together. There’s obvious attraction there – but does she want her old life back, with the footballer boyfriend and peppy friends, and her father controlling her? Or does she want a new, better life, where she can have all of the things she really wants?

 

There was so much hype about this book. While I thought it was pretty good, I found it a little tedious. I think my main issue was that I hated how Echo just let everyone tell her what to do, and I could not wait until she finally started doing what she wanted to do. It seemed to take ages. I understand that that’s who she is, but I was uncomfortable while reading it.

The characters were all right. While I sympathized with Noah and Echo and their issues, I didn’t really connect with either one of them.

I’m not sure if I’ll go on with the companion novels or not. But I would recommend it to people who like high school novels with a bit more substance. The style of it sort of reminded me of Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles.

My Rating: 3/5

Goodreads Rating: 4.13/5

Leave a Reply

