City of Bones by Cassandra Clare + A Ranting Movie Review.

256683The Mortal Instruments, Book One

442 pages

Published March 27 2007

Clary thinks she is just an ordinary teenage New Yorker. But after a crazy experience in an underage nightclub, where she saw one guy stab another guy, her whole world starts to change. Her mother disappears, her mum’s friend Luke (who has always been like a father to Clary) refuses to see her, and, to top it all off, she starts seeing things that she never could before.

Her new ‘friends’ (the people she saw in the nightclub fight) are Shadowhunters, who fight and kill demons. She learns that pretty much every story is true: vampires, werewolves, faeries, mermaids, pixies, warlocks – they all exist.

But where exactly does Clary fit into this strange, new world?

 

This was my second reading of City of Bones – I’ve read the first three, but needed to refresh before I read the rest of the series. I remembered that I found it hard to get through the first book, but the next two were more readable. Rereading it, I found it just as hard to get through. It’s strange, because in theory, this book has everything – cool urban setting, danger, hot boys, monsters, amazing creatures, a bit of mystery, a Shadowhunter homeland that mundanes like us know absolutely nothing about, an evil guy who everyone thinks is dead, a shock at the end, etc, etc, etc. Despite all of this, it seems like something is missing. It’s a little dry, maybe. I found myself procrastinating and putting off reading it. It took me the best part of a week to finish, which is a long time for me. But like I said, I’m pretty sure that the next two books are better. And, there was definitely a lot of really cool stuff going on here. There’s a fair bit of world building and back-story to get through.

The shock bit at the end is pretty effective, but (if you’ve read the book you’ll know what I’m talking about) kind of redundant, because you just know, in that way that justice and fairness to all will prevail in the end, that it will probably be turned around again in the next books anyway. Also, I didn’t find the ending to be very exciting. It was a bit drawn out and flat. I don’t think that Valentine, the bad guy, was set up the best way that he could have been. He wasn’t very ominous or scary. It also doesn’t help that I couldn’t help but compare him to Voldemort from Harry Potter (it’s the ‘V’ names, mainly, but there are other similarities), which isn’t very fair to poor old Valentine, but there you go.

That sounds like a lot of negative stuff. But there’s plenty that I liked, even loved, about this book. For example, I love those series that just throw all mythical creatures in. That makes sense to me. I mean, if vampires and werewolves exist, why not faeries and trolls and all the rest? There’s a lot of scope there, lots of things to be explored. It’s excting.

If you like supernatural series, then definitely read this (if you haven’t already – it was released a fair while ago!). And if like me, you struggled with the first book, read on because the next ones (Books two and three, I can definitely vouch for) are better.

My Rating: 3.5/5

Goodreads Rating: 4.13/5

THE MOVIE ADAPTATION:

In one word, terrible. I actually turned it off before it got to the big finale. And I’ll watch anything – I immensely enjoyed such movies as Sand Sharks and  Jack and Jill (!). It got to the point when I just couldn’t take anymore. I’ll probably watch what I missed one day, but I just couldn’t hack it that night. I wanted to scream at the screen! But since it was late, I simply hissed my abuse at the screen, so as not to wake my sleeping family members.

You see, they chop and change everything. The events from the book are just all over the place, and some of the included ones have been majorly altered so they aren’t as meaningful anymore – like with the demon in Clary’s apartment. Then there’s new stuff that really doesn’t add anything to the plot, in my opinion. People who read the book are seeing the movie for a reason, you know? They’re probably not gonna appreciate it when important things are left out so that new things that must’ve seemed exciting to the moviemakers can be put in, at the expense of the movie’s entertainment.

It’s just a big, dumb adaptation that’s about as subtle as a brick through your front window with the words “I’m a brick being thrown through your front window” written on it. Everything is shown, and information is fed to you right away, rather than little breadcrumbs that keep you wondering, like in the book. There’s no mystery or suspense.

I would recommend this movie to approximately no one. Die hard fans will probably either love it or be offended on behalf of the book, like I was.

Leave a Reply

