Cathy’s Key by Sean Stewart and Jordan Weisman – Illustrated by Cathy Brigg.

7054851

Cathy Vickers, Book Two

144 pages

Published May 5th 2008 by Running Pr Book Pub

Note that this review contains spoilers for the first book.

Six months ago Cathy learned that her boyfriend Victor is immortal and that she is definitely only a mere mortal.

Now, she is out of school and can’t seem to hold down a job. She hardly ever sees Victor because he is off being forced to research how to make people immortal. Her best friend Emma has started her phone company, Double Talk Wireless, with the help of a creepy benefactor who has eyes for Cathy.

When new information comes to light about her father’s death, Cathy throws herself into investigating what really happened that day.

 

Cathy’s Key continues on in the same artistic fashion as Cathy’s Book. There’s another packet filled with documents from the novel and new websites to check out. Also, if I’m not mistaken, there are a couple of new access codes to get into some of the character’s phone messages online. I’ll have to check those out soon.

I enjoyed reading this, but I must confess that I am finding it hard to express my thoughts. I also don’t want to give too much away. I will say that this series continues to be very original. The plot goes to places that are strange and unexpected, but I like it.

There are plenty of new characters in Cathy’s Key. My favourite new guy would have to be Emma’s sort of love interest, Pete. There’s also more of a focus on some of the characters we were introduced to in book one, like Tsao. A few questions are answered, satisfying my curiosity on some fronts (there are still a few things that I’d like to see elaborated on Cathy’s Ring).

If you enjoyed the first book, you should definitely continue on with the series.

My Rating: 4/5

Goodreads Rating: 3.80/5

Leave a Reply

