Cathy’s Book by Sean Stewart and Jordan Weisman – Illustrated by Cathy Brigg.

856969Cathy Vickers Trilogy, Book One

143 pages

Published October 3rd 2006 by Running Press Kids

Cathy is an artistic teenager living in San Francisco. When her boyfriend Victor dumps her, leaving her with a muggy memory and a needle mark in her arm (not as shady as it sounds, I promise), she starts to realise that there were a lot of things about him that don’t quite add up. She starts to investigate him, sometimes with the help of her best friend Emma.

 

Cathy’s Book is an interactive feast. It comes with a packet filled with all of Cathy’s evidence – like menus, business cards, photos, inked sketches, official documents, and more. There is also an online element to her evidence. You can listen to messages and look up the places that she has been. It. Is. Awesome.

I first read this book back in 2006. I was enticed by the treasure trove of clues and papers. I love papers so much. I even used to get excited for career expos and stuff like that at school, because I just love receiving all those pamphlets (never mind that I hardly got anything out of them!). I didn’t do any of the online stuff when I first read Cathy’s Book. I don’t think I realised there was so much of it. But I’ve been checking it out this time around. You still need to figure out the access codes for some things, so it’s like you’re a sleuth as well. I also love sleuthing. Woo!

Another visually amazing thing about Cathy’s Book is that all of the pages have little doodles and handwritten notes on them. Very cool.

The story itself is very interesting and different (especially for 2006!). There’s a lot of Asian themed elements, plus a mystery, plus the ______ stuff (don’t want to say that one because it may give some things away). It is written like a journal, but not in a ‘dear diary’ kind of way. It’s Cathy recounting everything that’s happened.

It sounds short, and at 143 pages, I guess it is. But so much happens, and at a pretty fast pace. The fact that we meet Cathy after her relationship with Victor has finished, rather than from before it even starts definitely cuts down on the number of pages. There are still flashbacks of their meeting and their first date and stuff, so you don’t miss out on anything. My only slightly negative thing to say about this book is that a lot of things were left unanswered. Still, this is a trilogy – so there’s time for that. Also, if I scoured over the documents then I could probably answer a few of those things myself.

If you enjoy mysteries and teenage sleuths, as well as art, then you should definitely read this!

My Rating: 4.5/5

Goodreads Rating: 3.56/5

Leave a Reply

