Easy by Tammara Webber.

Paperback, 310 pages16056408

First published May 25th 2012

Jacqueline’s boyfriend of three years, Kennedy, broke it off with her just weeks ago, so that he could sow his wild oats and get it out of his system now, at college, rather than later, when he’s a politician and it could ruin his career.

When leaving a party one night, Jacqueline is almost raped by a fellow student. Luckily, she was rescued by Lucas. Before that night, she had never noticed him. Now, he seems to be everywhere.

Her friends, who don’t know about the attempted rape, urge her to have a fling with Lucas. They think that a bad boy like him is just what she needs to get over her good boy ex.

Lucas and Jacqueline grow closer, but he has a dark past that he isn’t willing to share, as well as some secrets that affect their relationship in the present. Meanwhile, Jacqueline is still being threatened by her would-be rapist, Buck.

Easy blew me away. I loved all the characters – Lucas would have to be the hottest literary leading man that I’ve encountered in quite some time! – and Jacqueline is strong and likeable. Some of the subject matter is quite heavy, but it’s dealt with really well. The romance aspect was fantastic.

I just loved it!

My rating: 5/5

Goodreads rating: 4.26/5

2 comments on “Easy by Tammara Webber.

  1. Tanya says:

    I was surprised by how much I loved this one. Given the storyline, there were so many things that could’ve gone wrong, but Webber handled it in a way that deserves applause. When I finished reading it, I was left with the impression that a book like this needed to be written, and for me to feel that way is extremely rare.
    She didn’t tip-toe around the attempted rape issue, nor the subsequent events. I’d love for more writers to have the guts to write like this.

    • ldt9 says:

      Definitely. It’s one of the first books I have read from the new adult genre and it’s also the best one I’ve read. It didn’t feel like the type of novel that had been written just because the genre is becoming so popular. Some of the other ones are good, but forgettable. Not this, though.

Leave a Reply

