OCD, The Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn.

15721669240 pages

Published March 21st 2013 by Dial

OCD, The Dude, and Me chronicles one year in the life of Danielle Levine. She’s an adopted, redheaded, chunky senior with OCD. She’s got stacks of hats and a pair of Chucks for every occasion. She goes to a small alternative high school in Los Angeles, where she doesn’t exactly fit in.

This is one of those novels that doesn’t really have a plot – there’s gradual growth, but not much plot. It’s written in the form of letters, writing assignments and diary entries – all the documents that make up Danielle’s super secret ‘me-moirs’ that she keeps locked up under her bed.  I actually love this style of writing, but I know that others might hate it.

Danielle is an incredible character. I got so very attached to her. She’s funny, smart and self deprecating. I wanted everything to work out for her. I got to the end of the book and felt like crying, but not really for any particular reason. Just because I was empathising with her so much, I guess (If I had been alone, I definitely would have cried).

I watched The Big Lebowski in preparation for this, and I’m glad I did. It’s not essential, but if you have seen it then there are parts of the novel that will make you feel all nostalgic and like you’re a part of something really cool (I wanted to be at that Lebowski fest!). I think that I also had lots of warm fuzzy feelings because I went bowling earlier in the week (the bowling wasn’t in preparation of the book, but a simple coincidence – though it did add to the experience).

If you like contemporary young adult fiction, then I’d definitely recommend OCD, The Dude, and Me.

2 comments on “OCD, The Dude, and Me by Lauren Roedy Vaughn.

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review my book (and so kindly, at that :). Happy reading and blogging to you!

Leave a Reply

