Dear Venny, Dear Saffron by Gary Crew and Libby Hathorn.

2483206207 pages

First Published 1999

Venny and Saffron become pen pals through school. He’s just an average Australian lad and she lives the good life in New York City. They become really close over the months, as their lives change around them. Venny gets the chance of a lifetime to do some modelling work, while Saffron goes travelling around the world with her aunt on a sort of mission.

When is a school assignment not a drag? When it’s the beginning of a love affair . . .

I read this for the first time in year ten. One day in English we had to go to the library and read for the whole period. I didn’t have a book on me that day so the librarian suggested this. Needless to say, I loved it.

You stick with the two characters as they grow and mature and experience joy and tragedy. Dear Venny, Dear Saffron is a great little contemporary love-across-the-continents story.

As a side note, I wonder if the Australian novels that I love are universally amazing, or if I just relate to them more because they’re written by people with the same background/upbringing as me. Aussie novels just seem so much more laid back and meaningful to me.

 

Leave a Reply

