The Right Book + The Right Song = Endless Nostalgia.

I love books. I love music. I especially love when you are listening to music while reading and a certain song fits the text perfectly. Like it was created just for you, just for that moment. Maybe no one else would ever feel the way you felt while listening to that song and reading that novel. I think that it’s all down to your own preferences and experiences. And of course, the selection of music that you have to work with.

The other thing to consider is this: when I buy a new album, I like to listen to it over and over again. So if I am listening to an album on repeat while reading a book, am I forcing a match? Like trying to stick a square peg in a round hole? I don’t believe that. Because I don’t find a match every single time I listen to a song/album on repeat while reading- only sometimes.

Whatever the case may be, I love it. Whenever I listen to that song, I think of it’s book-mate, indulge in some nostalgia, and feel happy.

I wish that I had written down every single match that I’ve ever found, but unfortunately I haven’t. Bearing in mind that these are kind of paired with specifics scenes, here are the ones that I remember:

Good Oil by Laura Buzo+Terrible Love by the National

Uglies by Scott Westerfield+Crazy by Gnarls Barkley

Delirium by Lauren Oliver+The Unspeakable Scene/Circles by Birds of Tokyo

Feed by Mira Grant+Smokestar by Seabellies

The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons+Poison in our Pocket by Whitley

Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl+The World is Yours by I Heart Sharks.

This entry was posted in General.

Leave a Reply

